What The Hell Are You Eating?

Taco Tiempo May 26, 2008

Filed under: tacos — whatthehellareyoueating @ 5:47 pm
Tags: , ,

Valarie and I unveiled Taco Tiempo at my graduation party.  It went off without a hitch.  Valarie and I bought most of the food late the night before at the Food City on Fort Lowell.  If you don’t spend much time near closing at Food City, I urge you to keep up that practice.  We had to make a second stop at Scary Fry’s (1st and Grant) though it wasn’t as scary as it used to be, to buy the ingredients for the ceviche.

We spent the rest of the night doing the prep work for the party the next day. The ceviche came together very nicely.  It’s a secret recipe that we developed on the spot.  All I can tell you is that it has scallops, shrimp and tilapia and it looks like this.

We forgot to put the avocado on top but it was forgivable since I also made a guacamole that knocked a couple of socks off.  But seriously folks, the real star of the night was Taco Tiempo’s specialty the potato tacos.  Valarie did all of the potato work, the boiling, the smashing, the loving.  I don’t know what it is about the way she makes the potatoes but I swear ordinary people can’t do it.  She did the potatoes the night before and I started folding them when I came over the next afternoon.  I don’t know how many of those tasty bastards I folded. They looked like little pillows that you could curl up on, burrow down in or fall asleep in.

I brought a camp stove so we could fry them outside since frying them inside makes the whole house plus Valarie’s hair smell like grease.  I was a little worried that the stove wouldn’t get hot enough but it got hot as hell as soon as I turned it up.  It was perfect, thanks Coleman.

People started filing in around six.  We had a spread laid out with the ceviche and the tacos plus Josh brought some really tasty salsa that he put together.  He used the usual tomatoes, cilantro, chiles, onions, but plus carrots which added a nice little orange pop of color and a little sweetness.  Everyone started cruising through the tacos.  I heard a lot of people saying things like, “Dude, I think I just ate seven of these things.”

It was a completely successful combo graduation party / Taco Tiempo opening.  Here’s the proof:

It’s Taco Time MotherFuckers

 

5 Responses to “Taco Tiempo”

  1. Mittens Says:

    If I were a heartless person I would leave a little mini-review of the wedding I went to instead of the Taco Tiempo unveiling. It actually wasn’t that bad for a wedding of people I barely know. But none of the food looked as good as those tacos. (e.g., Ritz crackers and cheese ball.)

    Give me a heads up before your next function. (Avoid June 21. My little cousin Katie is getting married to some dude I’ve never met.)

  2. Sarah Says:

    black t-shirts are great on you! i love V and am still sad that i couldn’t go to her house. i love it there.

  3. miss valarie Says:

    that ceviche was the dopest i ever had.
    i am going to live off of that all summer.
    perfect for my unofficial diet too.
    xov.

  4. Amy Says:

    Here is an actual email I received recently…

    so my friend Alicia sent me this food blog link, that was sent to her from her friend. And she was like, wow isn’t that your redhead friend from school… So i read the blog, which is very entertaining, but yeah its you I say to her….http://whatthehellareyoueating. wordpress. com/

    You are all over cyberspace Marshall!!!

  5. Abby Says:

    Awww, I am so sad that I missed out! Being at home on the couch with the stomach-flu was pretty bad, and when Josh came home all tuckered-out from partying like a rock star I was even more bummed. But looking at those pictures makes me wish I had come over anyway! Damn it.


Leave a Reply

