What The Hell Are You Eating?

Sushi Cho June 12, 2008

Filed under: Sushi — whatthehellareyoueating @ 3:43 am
Tags: , ,

Cal, Henry and I went to Sushi Cho in the hopes of gorging ourselves.  Is there a better food on which to gorge oneself?  Well, probably, but still, eating too much sushi is fast becoming one of my favorite culinary hobbies.

The service at Sushi Cho was almost as good as the sushi.  There were a plethora of servers swarming around us as we sat at the bar.  All of them were attentive and friendly.  Even our sushi chef, who had a funny haircut, was nice.  The laid back atmosphere of Sushi Cho was contrasted by our amazingly fast service.

We’d barely sat down before we were handed small bowls of miso and edamame.  We took a little extra time pouring over their fairly extensive menu.  Henry and Cal both opted for the Mayor Bob Walkup Roll (I shit you not) so named because Mayor Bob Walkup frequents Sushi Cho (again shitting you not) and prefers his philly roll with spicy tuna instead of salmon.  It was a nice switcheroo, and whether you like him or not, you have to admit he has at least one good idea about sushi.  They also both got tuna nigiri which, if the reports are to be believed, was fresh and rich.  Cal also went way out on a limb and ordered the gila monster roll.  It’s widely known that the gila monster is the world’s only poisonous lizard (according to my nephew the komodo dragon isn’t poisonous, it just has bacteria in its saliva).  In concordance, the gila monster roll may be the only poisonous sushi roll.  Don’t take “poisonous” the wrong way, I just mean that when I ate some of it, I thought it was going to sear a burning hole in my stomach.  It’s a completely fried roll with cooked tuna, cream cheese and probably something else.  So yeah, we all regretted eating it.  I ordered the mackerel nigiri.  It was creamy, not the least bit fishy and also one of the best things I’ve eaten in some time.  I also got the avocado, cream cheese and shrimp roll which is doesn’t defy its name.  I also got a 911 roll.  Nowadays when I see the numbers “911” I think 9/11 instead of 9-1-1.  It was a cucumber and mixed fish roll with chili flakes dotting the rice.  I suppose the 9-1-1 was supposed to indicate some sort of “heat” but didn’t really deliver.  At least it wasn’t as big a disaster as 9/11 (too soon).

I’m going to give Sushi Cho 8 Bob Walkups.

I’m not sushi.

 

One Response to “Sushi Cho”

  1. erin Says:

    sushi cho is my favorite. try the pan-fried gyoza next time.


Leave a Reply

