What The Hell Are You Eating?

Condiment Spotlight: Harissa June 27, 2008

Filed under: Condiments — whatthehellareyoueating @ 2:50 pm
Tags:

I looked for harissa for a long time before I found some at Williams-Sonoma.  I was seriously about to order it from Amazon.  Harissa is a chili paste made out of fresh or dry chilies, garlic, olive oil, and tomatoes.  It is an essential condiment in North Africa cuisine.  The first thing I did with it was a chicken stir fry, then Eric and I rubbed a couple of steaks and grilled them.  Both winners.  Harissa is possibly going to replace sambal as my condiment of choice.  But I don’t want to get carried away.  In Tunisia it is used to distinguish their couscous from all other couscouses world wide.  They also put it on sandwiches.  There is only a couple of things that I know about Tunisia, one is where it is and the other is that I used to get my ass kicked whenever I played them in Volleyball for the NES.  But now that I know they put harissa on sandwiches, Tunisia is skyrocketing up my list of countries I want to visit.  It is now somewhere between Poland and New Zealand.

Dry them pepper fruits!

 

2 Responses to “Condiment Spotlight: Harissa”

  1. Mittens Says:

    I hear the Poles are soup geniuses.

  2. Luke Says:

    My recent trip to Botswans introduced me to the Peri-Peri or bird’s eye chili. they are awesome, similar to the chiltepin but with a fruiter flavor ame more heat on the in the background rather than up front. I smuggled in about a pound of them and I am through most of them by now. I need more.


Leave a Reply

