What The Hell Are You Eating?

Zinburger July 28, 2008

Filed under: Burgers — whatthehellareyoueating @ 6:55 pm
Tags: ,

Gourmet burgers.  Do we really need them?  I’m not so sure.  While I can’t afford to drop 150 dollars on a hamburgers stuffed with a fucked up duck liver, I can spend fourteen on one that is supposedly made with Kobe beef at our local “Wine and Burger Bar,” Zinburger but I don’t know that I should.  I’ve eaten many a standard burger that could top the one I had at Zinburger but that isn’t to say that Zinburger is without charms.

Cal and I went down on a Tuesday and the place was in full swing.  We were lucky enough to find us deep within a happy hour that includes half of beers and sides.  The happy hour makes Zinburger worth a trip to try some of their sweet potato chips or double truffle fries both of which made their appearance at our table.  The sweet potato chips came with a nice yogurt dip.  The truffle aioli that came with the fries leaned a little hard to the mayonnaise side.  It sort of tasted like an almost turned mayo you found at the back of the fridge but, shit, they were only two fifty.

We tried none of these things.

The burgers were tasty but hardly worth fourteen dollars.  I’d say they were perhaps eight or nine dollar burgers.  I mistakingly got both avocado and tomato on my burger and it slid around like tectonic plates between the bun.  I had to knife and fork it.  In some cases this can be a compliment to your burger but to others it could be a serious problem.  Here it was just my short sightedness of ordering the avocado and tomato together.  Cal had no such problems and thoroughly enjoyed his.

I just have one other question about Zinburger, why the fuck is it so loud in there?  Cal and I sat outside but when we walked through the dining area, it was a barrage of idiotic speak bouncing around the walls.  It most be acoustically mapped out that way.  Also, the bathroom was creepy.  Really creepy in a Brave New World/1984 way, I loved it.

I have to say that Zinburger is probably my favorite of the Fox restaurants, a position that I previously awarded to Montana Avenue.  I’d say it gets seven fries dipped in weird mayo.

http://www.foxrestaurantconcepts.com/downloads/menus/zb_menu.pdf

 

One Response to “Zinburger”

  1. sta Says:

    rich n i went here with the supper club meetup i had a plain burger mayo let tom onion yummy when can i go back.we ate outside. i thought the clientel was not my crowd.


Leave a Reply

