What The Hell Are You Eating?

Mariscos Chihuahua October 10, 2008

Filed under: Mexican,Seafood — whatthehellareyoueating @ 6:37 pm
Tags: , ,

Cal finally dragged me to Mariscos Chihuahua. I’ve been putting my foot down about the place for a few months now and I’m not sure why. Perhaps it was the constant construction taking place at the 22nd street location which is closest to my house. I just felt that was a bad omen of some sort. But there must be other reasons I was reluctant to go. I’ve never heard anyone in the seven years that I’ve lived here mention it even in passing so that might be it as well.

Whatever the reason, I relented and went with Cal last Wednesday.  There were a few other people in the restaurant when I got there at 6:30, which I only make note of because we go to so many places where we are the lone diners making our experience a tad awkward.  There was a bowl of complimentary chips and salsa on the table and a bowl of limes.  The salsa was fair, merely acceptable.  There was a selection of hot sauces on the table that I thought was a nice touch, but they didn’t really make up for the average salsa.

The interior is odd, sort of desert island-ish without any antecedent except for the fact that they serve seafood.  Not a death blow by any means, it was actually kind of kitschy in a good way.  We started with an appetizer of ceviche.

The ceviche was not very good.  There were no scallops or any fish, just shrimp.  It was also tomato heavy which made for kind of an odd mix.  I’m not kidding you when I say Valarie and I made a ceviche that is easily four times this good.  But ceviche could very from day to day so I’m not going to let this review hinge on this disappointing dish.  Cal ordered some kind of shrimp dish that he’s been raving about for months in attempt to lure me to this restaurant.

It was basically some shrimp in a jalepeno cream sauce topped with some cheese.  The addition of fries I found odd but not without charm.  I’m not sure why rice is also included, or the terrible salad for that matter.  Mine came without fries but with the tasteless salad.  Cal wasn’t disappointed with his dish.  I have no idea what it is actually called but there is a picture of it on the menu.  I have to admit the jalepeno cream sauce was good.  It was very rich and the cream addition allowed for the taste of the jalepenos to permeate the shrimp without the heat.

I ordered the shrimp endiablados which was really just shrimp in an adobo sauce.  The shrimp were cooked well and were infused with the adobo sauce, it just isn’t one of my favorite flavor profiles.  It came with three worthless flour tortillas that didn’t stay together for shit.  It was also twelve dollars which I found excessive.  I thought I’d mention that since Leigh admonished me last time for not mentioning the even more overpriced food at El Mezon del Cobre (though their food is much better).

I would probably wouldn’t eat here again, the menu was one of those where everything looks equally unappetizing so you can’t decide what to be disappointed by.  Most of the dishes seemed really over thought.  But if forced, I could probably have a good time there, toward the end of the meal a female duo of guitar and flute started playing and they were actually pretty good.  I especially liked when the flautist warmed up with the theme from the Pink Panther which is my grandpa Jack’s favorite movie.

I give Mariscos Chihuahua five shrimp dipped in something nondescript.  Most of those points come from the atmosphere which some people are perfectly willing to pay for.

 

4 Responses to “Mariscos Chihuahua”

  1. sarah Says:

    I’ve always wondered about this place, too. There are like 6 of them in town. The large shrimps painted on the exterior of the buildings kind of kept me away. Thanks for reviewing.

  2. Luke Says:

    Traditionaly (according to my ex-girlfriend’s mom) ceviche is just shrimp, that said the more modern inclusion of fish, scallops, and (my favorite) squid make it a much better dish. There is something to be said for tradition, but not with ceviche.
    And it sounds to me like the menu is one of those ‘Wheel of Pain’ type things. Step right up and take a spin.

  3. sta* Says:

    yum the shrimp cocktail is deelish we go to the one on 22nd

  4. sta* Says:

    Rich orders lame fish basket fries


Leave a Reply

